Book Review: #GIRLBOSS by Sophia Amoruso

girlboss

Reviewed by: Bethany
Genre: Business (but kind of more biography?)
Format: Softcover
Page count: 256 Pages
Rating: 3.5/5 stars
In stock: Yes

 

“At seventeen, Sophia Amoruso decided to forgo continuing education to pursue a life of hitchhiking, dumpster diving, and petty thievery. Now, at twenty-nine, she is the Founder, CEO, and Creative Director of Nasty Gal, a $100+ million e-tailer that draws A-list publicity and rabid fans for its leading-edge fashion and provocative online persona. Her story is extraordinary—and only part of the appeal of #GIRLBOSS.” – Goodreads

I don’t know what has come over me, but business books have been catching my eye lately. I just feel like leaning in, I guess. #GIRLBOSS was a very easy read and I don’t think this book is perfect, but it is ultimately well-intentioned and taught me a thing or two, which isn’t hard because I know almost nothing about business. I’m certain that there are books out there with better advice, though #GIRLBOSS was probably a good first business book for me. All right!

For the most part, I enjoyed Sophia Amoruso’s #GIRLBOSS! It’s filled with a decent amount of solid, reasonable advice and multiple references to dumpster bagels. I also appreciated her acknowledgement that there isn’t one true way to become successful because school isn’t for everyone. It’s important to remember that Sophia Amoruso isn’t a writer, so you can’t fault #GIRLBOSS for not being a perfectly punctuated manifesto.

One of the things I did find a little nauseating was the constant plugging of the “#GIRLBOSS” throughout the book. In some chapters, it seemed the she was mentioning the “movement” every other word and it ended up detracting from the book a bit. I almost started a tally.

I find that in writing these book reviews, it helps me to realize how I genuinely feel about the book. It makes me think critically or something. Anyway, if you want a quick read with some amusing stories and a tiny bit of tangible advice, then you should read this book!

This entry was posted in Bethany's Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

