Book Review: Company Town by Madeline Ashby

m.php

Reviewed by: Savannah
Genre: Fiction
Format: Softcover
Page count: 288 Pages
Rating: 4/5 stars
In stock: Yes

I did it guys! I read the entire Short list of Canada Reads for this year! So this will be my last review of the Canada Reads 2017 books. I actually really enjoyed this book and read through it really fast. Although I’m really not sure how it relates to the theme of the year. But before I get ahead of myself I’ll give you the Goodreads synopsis,

Meet Hwa. One of the few in her community to forego bio-engineered enhancements, she’s the last truly organic person left on the rig. But she’s an expert in the arts of self-defence, and she’s been charged with training the Family’s youngest, who has been receiving death threats – seemingly from another timeline.

Meanwhile, a series of interconnected murders threatens the city’s stability – serial killer? Or something much, much worse…?”

This book is a dystopian future type of book, I really don’t know why but I was feeling some Divergent vibes even though they are nothing alike. I found that this book didn’t relate to the theme that much; there were small details that Canadians could learn from, but nothing too extreme. It was still a really good book and if the synopsis sounds interesting I would definitely say to check it out.

I found the idea of having bio-engineered people very interesting and I guess we’ll have to wait and see if/when that ever happens. Sounds like it won’t go too terribly when it does happen.

I’m honestly not too huge of a science fiction fan so despite the total sci-fi vibes from the book I still really enjoyed it as it’s an enjoyable mix of that and murder mystery as well.

Hwa, the main character is an extremely likeable character too as she’s brave, shows emotion, and isn’t afraid to be herself. Not to mention how physically strong she is. (I mean obviously, she is a bodyguard) Also, yay for such a diverse character, being a WOC and having a disability! We all know that reading diversely and having diverse characters is very important. It was refreshing to read about such an amazing woman. Also, such a small side note but there is a part where Hwa gets her period and ITS SUPER REALISTIC! She talks about her cramps being the worst but still continues to do her job and make sure that when needs to get done does. Honestly, I think I might have to look into more of Madeline Ashby’s work as she wrote such an amazing character I’d love to read more like it.

 

This entry was posted in Savannah's Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

