Book Review: Cujo by Stephen King

 

cujo

 

 

Reviewed by: Bethany
Genre: Fiction
Format: Mass market
Page count: 304 pages
Rating: 3.5/5 stars
In stock: Yes

 “His bite is worse than his bark…

It happens innocently enough, but doesn’t it happen always. A big, friendly dog chases a rabbit into a hidden underground cave – and stirs a sleeping evil crueler than death itself.” – Goodreads

Cujo in a nutshell: Stephen King somehow manages to make me want to read a book about two people trapped in a hot car on a hot day. Also, a surprising amount of talk about cereal!

I’ve been on a bit of a Stephen King kick lately, this having been the sixth book of his that I’ve read. Up until recently I had been under the impression that his books were too scary for me; I have either done some major growing up or they were never scary to begin with. However, reading 6/55 of his novels (10.9%) probably doesn’t make me an expert. What I think I’m trying to say is that the terror I’ve experienced so far has been manageable. You can do it too!

I feel like I don’t have to do too much explaining because Cujo is such a prolific dog, but I will say that this story revolves around characters who have all become victims of circumstance, Cujo included. If only Cujo hadn’t chased that rabbit, if only Donna had left Tad with the babysitter, if only Joe Camber hadn’t cancelled his mail, and so on. There are countless minor factors contributing to a brutal standoff between a sweaty lady and a foamy Saint Bernard. I found this very frustrating.

So, if you’re up for a story about when the monster in your closet escapes, then find yourself a copy of Cujo. If you really like dogs, then emotionally prepare yourself. I think we can all assume that a story about a dog with rabies probably doesn’t end well for the dog.

Now I’m off to read The Stand and continue giving my dog suspicious side eye!

This entry was posted in Bethany's Reviews, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book Review: Cujo by Stephen King

  1. I read somewhere that King barely remembers writing it at all, being heavily drunk at that time lol

    Good luck with The Stand! It’s one of my favorite novels ever. It’s one of King’s best works and I hope you enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

