Book Review: This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

this is where it ends

Reviewed by: Savannah
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Format: Hardcover
Page count: 288 pages
Rating: 5/5 stars
In stock: Yes

Okay, I am just going to start off by saying this book does not have a happy ending. Hopefully, you don’t find that fact a spoiler alert. But with such a real subject, you probably can’t expect too much from it. I also found myself having troubles trying to put it down – I just wanted to stop all my responsibilities and finish the book. Here’s a description of the book:

Everyone has a reason to fear the boy with the gun.

10:00 a.m.
The principal of Opportunity, Alabama’s high school finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m.
The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03
The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05
Someone starts shooting.

Told from four perspectives over the span of 54 harrowing minutes, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.”

I found this book in a list of highly anticipated Young Adult New Releases, and was not disappointed as I loved it. However, if you don’t like feeling things when you read, then I would say this book is not for you. I’m not going to lie, there were times where I was reading this and there were tears coming to my eyes, and others where my hand was balled into a fist and I was stressed for the characters.

DISCLAIMER: THIS BOOK WILL MAKE YOU FEEL THINGS. If you have been following my reviews, you will know that I love reading stories with different character’s perspectives, so that was an instant selling point for me. I’m also a huge Young Adult fan, so another great selling point for me. If you don’t like Young Adult for some odd reason, you should still give this book a try because it’s a great read. As you can probably tell from the description, it’s about a school shooting, which isn’t an easy subject to approach, and yet, I thought that the author did a wonderful job. As I said before, it doesn’t have a happy ending, but it does have what one would think is a realistic ending. The fact that the whole book also takes place in a time span of 54 minutes is easy to forget, but also a wonderful aspect; those 54 minutes are very action packed and will keep you guessing and wanting to read more. This book also does a great job of having representation in it. If you are someone who looks for that, there are people of color all throughout the book and queer girl main characters.

 

This entry was posted in Savannah's Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

