Book Review: Chasers of the Light by Tyler Knott Gregson

chasers of the light

Reviewed by: Stephanie
Genre: Poetry
Format: Hardcover
Page count: 144 pages
Rating: 5/5 stars
In stock: Yes

“One day, while browsing an antique store in Helena, Montana, photographer Tyler Knott Gregson stumbled upon a vintage Remington typewriter for sale. Standing up and using a page from a broken book he was buying for $2, he typed a poem without thinking, without planning, and without the ability to revise anything.

He fell in love.” – Goodreads.
This is exactly what happened to me when I first picked up this book. Personally, I am a huge lover of poetry, but I find that many poets tend to get a bit too eloquent, and sometimes lose my interest. Sometimes, it’s the short, yet powerful poems that really resonate with me, and I have to say, Gregson masters this perfectly.
“Chasers of the Light” covers a variety of themes as well (like love, loss, loneliness, etc), which is nice if I’m looking for that one bit of inspiration to suit my mood for writing or what-have-you. Each page is also artistically laid out – beautiful photos to match the theme of each type-written poem. Some pages are simplistic too, which is also nice in regards staying true to its theme of being a “typewriter series”.
It’s truly a great collection of his work, from start to finish. Having followed his social media accounts for sometime now, it’s nice to finally have a physical copy of some of his work in my hands. If you’re a lover of poetry, I feel like this book is a must-have. It is quick to devour, but it is resonating nonetheless.

This entry was posted in Steph's Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

